PROCEEDINGS OF THE BOARD MEETING OF THE LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD LTC Cleveland, Lakeshore Conference Room July 13, 2015

Board Present: Crowley, Hildebrandt, Kluss, Lukas, Parrish, Vasquez Board Absent: Chappy, Sheehan Staff Present: Lanser, Soodsma, Thillman, Dross, Gossen, Zahn, Mirecki, Kotajarvi Guests Present: Pohlman, Pohlman

Call to Order

The meeting of the Lakeshore Technical College District Board was called to order by Chair Nancy Crowley at 3:30 p.m. It was reported that this meeting had been publicized in accordance with requirements of the Wisconsin Open Meeting Law.

Oath of Office

In accordance with Section 19.01 of the Wisconsin Statutes, a printed copy of the oath of office was given to James Parrish and Lois Vasquez who were sworn into office by Board Member Nancy Crowley. The document was signed and notarized.

Public Input

No public input was provided.

Connections

The Board discussed ways in which they connected with the College and the community.

Approval of Minutes

IT WAS MOVED BY VICKY HILDEBRANDT AND SECONDED BY ROY KLUSS TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FOR THE JUNE 17, 2015 BOARD MEETING AND THE JUNE 17, 2015 PUBLIC HEARING ON THE PROPOSED ANNUAL PLAN AND BUDGET AS PRESENTED. Motion unanimously carried.

Organizational Business

Ms. Crowley declared the meeting open for nominations for the Board officer positions.

IT WAS MOVED BY VICKY HILDEBRANDT AND SECONDED BY JOHN LUKAS TO NOMINATE SHARON CHAPPY FOR LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE BOARD CHAIR FOR 2015-16. IT WAS MOVED BY ROY KLUSS AND SECONDED BY VICKY HILDEBRANDT TO CLOSE THE NOMINATIONS AND ELECT SHARON CHAPPY FOR THE LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD CHAIR. Motion unanimously carried.

IT WAS MOVED BY ROY KLUSS AND SECONDED BY NANCY CROWLEY TO NOMINATE JOHN LUKAS FOR LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE BOARD VICE-CHAIR FOR 2015-16. IT WAS MOVED BY LOIS VASQUEZ AND SECONDED BY ROY KLUSS TO CLOSE THE NOMINATIONS AND ELECT JOHN LUKAS FOR THE LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD VICE-CHAIR. Motion unanimously carried.

IT WAS MOVED BY JOHN LUKAS AND SECONDED BY VICKY HILDEBRANDT TO NOMINATE ROY KLUSS FOR LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE BOARD SECRETARY/TREASURER FOR 2015-16.

IT WAS MOVED BY JAMES PARRISH AND SECONDED BY NANCY CROWLEY TO CLOSE THE NOMINATIONS AND ELECT ROY KLUSS FOR THE LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE DISTRICT SECRETARY/TREASURER. Motion unanimously carried.

A discussion was held regarding publication of legal notices and minutes and the associated costs. IT WAS MOVED BY JOHN LUKAS AND SECONDED BY ROY KLUSS TO DESIGNATE THE HERALD TIMES REPORTER AS THE OFFICIAL NEWSPAPER FOR 2015-16. Motion unanimously carried.

IT WAS MOVED BY JOHN LUKAS AND SECONDED BY ROY KLUSS TO APPROVE THAT THE LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD PURCHASE NEW SIGNATURE PLATES FOR BOARD OFFICERS AS NECESSARY AND CONTINUE USE OF CURRENT PLATES UNTIL THE NEW PLATES ARRIVE. Motion unanimously carried.

Board Representation

Tax Incremental Financing Assignments		
City/Town/Village	Board Member	
Cascade	James Parrish	
Cleveland	Vicky Hildebrandt	
Howards Grove	Roy Kluss, Sharon Chappy	
Kellnersville	Lois Vasquez	
Kiel, Elkhart Lake	Vicky Hildebrandt	
Manitowoc, Two Rivers	John Lukas, Don Pohlman	
Mishicot	John Lukas	
Plymouth	Sharon Chappy	
Oostburg	James Parrish	
St. Nazianz, Valders	Nancy Crowley	
Sheboygan, Sheboygan Falls	Jim Parrish, Roy Kluss, Joe Sheehan	
Whitelaw	Nancy Crowley, Lois Vasquez	

The following assignments were made to represent Lakeshore Technical College at tax incremental financing joint finance review board meeting(s) for 2015-16.

The following assignments were made to represent LTC on the Wisconsin Technical College District Boards Association standing committees for 2015-16.

WTC District Boards Association Standing Committee Assignments		
Delegate to the Board of Directors	Victoria Hildebrandt	
Legislative	Don Pohlman	
Human Resources	John Lukas, Joe Sheehan	
Program	Victoria Hildebrandt, Lois Vasquez	
Marketing/Public Relations and Awards	Roy Kluss	
Interdistrict/Interagency Cooperation	Sharon Chappy, Nancy Crowley	
Bylaws, Policies and Procedures	James Parrish	

The following assignments were made to contact district legislators as needed in 2015-16.

Legislative Contacts		
Sen. Devin LeMahieu	James Parrish, Don Pohlman	
Rep. Paul Tittle	John Lukas, Nancy Crowley	
Rep. Terry Katsma	Sharon Chappy, Don Pohlman	
Rep. Tyler Vorpagel	Sharon Chappy, Vicky Hildebrandt	
Sen Frank Lasee	Vicky Hildebrandt, John Lukas	
Rep. Andre Jacque	Lois Vasquez, John Lukas, Nancy Crowley	
Rep. Jesse Kremer	Joe Sheehan, Roy Kluss, Vicky Hildebrandt	

Board Policy Review Schedule

Board members signed up to review board policies as outlined on the Board Policy Review Schedule.

Board Outreach and Tour Schedule

Board members signed up to complete board outreach as outlined on the Board Outreach and Tour Schedule.

Information/Discussion

Dr. Lanser reported on his recent activities and gave an operational report.

Other Business

Agenda items for the August 19, 2015 Board meeting were discussed.

Adjourn

IT WAS MOVED BY JAMES PARRISH AND SECONDED BY JOHN LUKAS TO ADJOURN. The motion was unanimously carried and the meeting was adjourned at 4:53 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Roy Kluss Secretary/Treasurer